France Finance

Nov 30 2017

Cheap Insurance Texas #cheap #auto #insurance #in #texas


Cheap Car Insurance Texas

Driving in Texas: Statewide Stats

Insurance Facts

When looking through the options for cheap car insurance Texas offers, the more information at your disposal the better. There are well over 22 million registered vehicles in Texas, with an average car insurance premium of $1,661 for a 12-month period as of December, 2016. The price is higher than most states, but the good news is that plenty of companies are competing for your business.

Texas law requires drivers to pay for accidents they cause. Fault is ultimately determined by the state, using evidence and testimony gathered at the scene of the accident. The at-fault party is then required to pay all damages resulting from the accident.

Texas Car Insurance Requirements

  • Bodily Injury coverage requirements are a minimum of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • Property damage liability minimum requirements are $25,000.
  • Uninsured Motorist coverage is not required, but insurance company s are required to offer it, and explain the coverage to consumers.

Did you know?

    • Texas is the second-most populous state with over 26 million residents who account for about 8% of the total U.S. Population.
    • Texas still owns all of its public land, so when the Federal government wants to build something, it must first ask permission.
    • As far as land mass is concerned, Texas is the second-largest state in the Union, after Alaska.

Helpful Resources

DMV website

The Texas DMV s website has numerous tools to help consumers register their vehicles, renew their driver s licenses, or even buy and sell their cars. There are also guides to help new residents get settled into the Lone Star State.

Registration Information
  • Vehicle registrations are handled by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. For a handy guide, click here .
  • Used vehicles must be registered within 30 days of purchase. For a guide to buying and selling a vehicle, click here .

Uninsured Drivers in Texas

According to Texas DMV, an estimated 20% of drivers in the state are uninsured, resulting in costs of up to $900 million for consumers. In order to help curb the rate of drivers who don t carry current insurance, the state released a program entitled TexasSure which keeps track of uninsured vehicles, and automatically updates insurance information for all vehicles registered in the state s databases.

DWI’s in Texas

According to the Century Council s website there were 85,436 DWI arrests in 2012. According to MADD, Texas leads the country in number of drunk driving deaths, with 1,296 fatalities in 2011, costing tax payers an estimated $6 billion. More DUI-related statistics and information can be found on Texas Department of Transportation website.

Texas law says that a person is legally intoxicated with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration). First offenses include fees of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, loss of your driver license for up to a year, and an annual fee of up to $2,000 to retain your license. And that s just the first offense. For a list of other penalties, see the DOT s guide here .

After a DUI conviction, many Texas drivers will require an SR22 filing to reinstate their drivers license. The Department of Public Safety has a guide to the requirements, and the process, here .

Driving Fatalities and Injuries in Texas

According to the Department of Transportation, 2012 saw a 10% increase in traffic fatalities from the year before, with 3,399 (32% of those fatalities were caused by drunk drivers). There were over 60,000 serious injury crashes as well.

The Bottom Line

Be safe. DUIs, traffic accidents, and driving-related injuries are on the rise in Texas. This is due in part to the influx of new residents, and more vehicles on the road. Be sure to obey all traffic laws and posted signs, and drive defensively. Not only will this decrease your likelihood of being involved in an accident, it will also keep your insurance costs low.

If you are new to Texas, and need to register a vehicle, or have been a life-long resident and just want to see if there s a better deal out there for your, we have you covered. Call us at the number above, or check out our guide for your specific town below:

We Have Your Town Covered!

Have questions about auto insurance in your state? Want a quote for car insurance? Start with your zipcode for a fast, free quote.

OR speak to an agent:

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *